Carlos Simon: Requiem For The Enslaved CD

Requiem For The Enslaved CD

Carlos Simon

  • US$14.99
    Delivery from US$6.10

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 19 August 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album
Decca UMO / Classics / Decca
US composer Carlos Simon presents a multi-genre work, 'Requiem for the Enslaved'; a musical tribute to commemorate the stories of 272 enslaved men, women and children sold in 1838 by Georgetown University. Carlos infuses his original compositions with African American spirituals and familiar Catholic liturgical melodies. Performed by the Hub New Music ensemble with Carlos at the piano, featuring and spoken word and hip hop artist Marvo Pave, and trumpeter MK Zulu. The album also includes 3 reflective bonus tracks based on their melodies featured in the Requiem.
1 I. invocation  
2 II. lord have mercy (let us go)  
3 kyrie  
4 interlude (Issac ran away)  
5 to be in that number  
6 III. we all found heaven  
7 IV. grant them rest  
8 interlude (i got shoes)  
9 remember me (spoken word interlude)  
10 V. remember me  
11 light everlasting interlude  
12 VI. light everlasting  
13 VII. deliver me  
14 VIII. gloria  
15 IX. shine upon them  
16 X. in paradisium (into paradise) ashé  
17 light everlasting (solo piano version)  
18 in paradisium (instrumental version)  
19 we all found heaven (instrumental version)"