Vangelis: Rosetta



  • US$10.99
    Delivery from US$13.06

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 September 2016
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

Released on 23rd September, Vangelis’ breathtaking recording is inspired by the Rosetta Mission, a pioneering project by the European Space Agency (ESA) to land a probe on a comet for the first time in history. The release of the recording marks the culmination of the 12-year mission and is accompanied by incredible footage captured by the probe.

Vangelis, whose celebrated scores include the trailblazing ‘Chariots of Fire’ and ‘Blade Runner’, reveals his musical inspiration: “Mythology, science and space exploration are subjects that have fascinated me since my early childhood. And they were always connected somehow with the music I write.”

The project came about after ESA astronaut André Kuipers, a long-standing fan of Vangelis, reached out to the composer whilst aboard the International Space Station. After sharing stories and experiences via a video call from the ISS, Vangelis was inspired to write ‘Rosetta’. The music is dedicated to everyone who made ESA’s ongoing Rosetta Mission possible, in particular extending the track ‘Rosetta Waltz’ as an expression of his appreciation to the mission team.

Tracklist: 01 - Origins (Arrival)
02 - Starstuff
03 - Infinitude
04 - Exo genesis
05 - Celestial whispers
06 - Albedo 0.06
07 - Sunlight
08 - Rosetta
09 - Philae's descent
10 - Mission accomplie (Rosetta's Waltz)
11 - Perihelion
12 - Elegy
13 - Return to the void