Duke Ellington, Coleman Hawkins
: Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins

Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins

Duke Ellington, Coleman Hawkins

  • US$47.99
    Delivery from US$12.29

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 May 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

One of the great Ellington albums, one of the great Hawkins albums and one of the great albums of the 1960s."" This was The New York Times’ praise for Duke Ellington and Coleman Hawkins’ only recorded encounter. Hawkins’ meeting with Ellington and an all-star group taken out of the big band does feature such greats as Ray Nance on cornet and violin, trombonist Lawrence Brown, altoist Johnny Hodges, and baritonist Harry Carney. High points include an exuberant ‘The Jeep Is Jumpin',’ an interesting remake of ‘Mood Indigo,’ and a clutch of newly-composed Ellington pieces. Verve’s Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from the original analog tapes mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at QPR. The series is supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, and releases are presented in deluxe gatefold tip-on packaging.

1 Limbo Jazz 5’10 (SIDE A)  
2 Mood Indigo 5’55 (SIDE A)  
3 Ray Charles' Place 4’04 (SIDE A)  
4 Wanderlust 4’57 (SIDE A)  
5 You Dirty Dog 4’19 (SIDE B)  
6 Self Portrait (Of The Bean) 3’50 (SIDE B)  
7 The Jeep Is Jumpin' 4’40 (SIDE B)  
8 The Ricitic 5’50 (SIDE B)"