Carmen McRae

Great Women Of Song: Carmen McRae


Release date: 8 March, 2024

Verve Records releases the latest editions in its breakout Great Women of Song series, which pays homage to the ground-breaking work and lasting impact of some of the greatest female vocalists of all time. Like her idol Billie Holiday, Carmen McRae could own a ballad and make it all her own. She could also swing every bit as hard as her other main influence, Ella Fitzgerald. Coming up during the bebop era and under the musical sway of Thelonious Monk, Carmen made a series of recordings for the Decca label that would cement her reputation and launch a career that close to 50 years. Whether in small groups or backed by a studio orchestra, Carmen McRae recorded definitive versions of songs that make up the backbones of jazz and the Great American Songbook.

1. Love Is Here To Stay
2. When I Fall In Love
3. You Don't Know Me
4. Whatever Lola Wants
5. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
6. You Took Advantage Of Me
7. When The Red, Red, Robin Comes Bob, Bobbin' Along
8. I Was Doing All Right
9. My Romance
10. Exactly Like You
11. How Long Has This Been Going On
12. Blue Moon
13. Ain't Misbehavin'
14. Cheek To Cheek (w/ Sammy Davis Jr.)

Vinyl LP