Ahmad Jamal Trio

The Awakening (Verve By Request Series): Vinyl LP


By 1970, pianist Ahmad Jamal's style had changed a bit since the 1950s, becoming denser and more adventurous while still retaining his musical identity and signature elegance. Jamal’s trio - bassist Jamil Nasser (whose double-timing lines are sometimes furious) and drummer Frank Gant, deliver intriguing performances, showing that Jamal was continuing to evolve. This Verve By Request Series features a remastered transfer on 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.


1    The Awakening   
2    I Love Music     
3    Patterns

SIDE B     
1    Dolphin Dance     
2    You're My Everything     
3    Stolen Moments     
4    Wave

Vinyl LP